Exclusive: Tea Leaf Announces Debut EP and Premieres New Video

Words by Maddy Howell

Tea Leaf, the solo project of Hora Douse frontman Tom Lee, has announced the release of their debut EP entitled 'Disappear'. Due for release on September 21st, the six-track collection chronicles the intimate and stark nature of Tom’s depression, and its subsequent effect on personal relationships.

Though Tom has always operated a vital role in the DIY circuit, having played shows alongside Tim Kasher (Cursive/The Good Life), Steven Page (Barenaked Ladies) and The Hotelier, tangible evidence of his existence has been sparse. With only a small selection of recordings in circulation and just a singular demo tape released in 2013, the reasons behind Tom's absence become apparent within the mental strain exhibited on his debut EP.

To accompany the announcement of his forthcoming EP, Tom has also released the music video for title track Disappear, featured below. The track details a raw account of Tom's anxiety and loneliness, addressing his experience with panic attacks and suicidal thoughts. With the accompanying video depicting a bleak train journey in a monochrome light, Tom's softly hummed sadness echoes over his acoustic guitar arrangement, offering up comparisons to the late Elliott Smith.

Tea Leaf's debut EP will be released digitally and physically as a limited cassette through independent record label Beth Shalom Records. Pre-orders are now live here, with the first press limited to 30 units on Silver Glitter tapes.

You can also catch Tea Leaf on tour at the following dates alongside Fresh and ME REX.


21 The Castle, Manchester
22 City Arts, Nottingham
23 The Exchange, Bristol (matinee)
24 Genesis Cinema, London*^
25 House Show, Brighton
26 The Keep, Guildford
28 Singleshot, Leeds*

*without Fresh
^with Cheerbleederz

Keep in touch with Tea Leaf -

Bandcamp - Facebook